The NCBLA’s committed Board of Directors donate their time, talent, and expertise broadening the NCBLA’s outlook, enriching every project and activity. The award-winning young people’s book authors and illustrators, and literacy and business professionals who serve on our board, also participate in conferences, summits, and other NCBLA events, inspiring activism and promoting literacy, books, and libraries.

Mary Brigid Barrett, President and Executive Director
Carol Greenwald
Nikki Grimes
Daphne Kalmar
Helen Kampion, Treasurer
Steven Kellogg, Vice President
Lou Laste
Reneé Critcher Lyons, Secretary
Patricia MacLachlan  (Emeritus Board Member: 1938-2022)
Patricia C. McKissack (Emeritus Board Member: 1944-2017)
Grant Oliphant
Katherine Paterson, Vice President
Jodi Rzeszotarski